Finalists revealed for the ukactive Awards 2023 after entries received from across the sector

ukactive has revealed the finalists for the ukactive Awards, after judges reviewed entries from across the full breadth of the sector.

Entries came from organisations, operators, and suppliers from both the public and private sectors, reflecting the scale and influence of ukactive’s membership.

Leaders from across the industry will gather to celebrate at the sector’s biggest awards ceremony of the year, which is sponsored by STA and for the first time, will be taking place in Leeds, at the Royal Armouries, on Thursday 26 October. Tickets for the awards are now live and available to purchase.

Despite another challenging year, with rising energy costs impacting many, this year’s submissions show the resilience and determination of the physical activity sector to continue its growth and its support for the nation’s health and happiness.

Proinsight has led the judging process for the awards – an independent organisation with a wealth of knowledge, expertise, and a directory of highly experienced professionals to provide honest and objective feedback for each entry.

Those on this shortlist now have the chance to take home one of the sector’s biggest prizes.

Check below to see the full list of finalists for 2023.

Georgie Poole, Head of Marketing and Events at ukactive, said: “For the first time, we’re taking our awards ceremony to Leeds and we’re really looking forward to welcoming our nominees and members to celebrate all the great work that our sector is doing.

“It’s been an exceptionally competitive year of entries into our awards and we’ve seen some exceptional stories and nominations, so a huge congratulations to this year’s finalists.

“The ukactive Awards offer the chance for us to recognise the incredible organisations, partnerships, and teams at the heart of our mission to get more people active so we’re looking forward to seeing everyone together on the night.”

Dave Candler, CEO of STA, the headline sponsor for the ukactive Awards, said: “This year’s finalists have all shown true innovation and creativity in what has been a difficult time for the industry.

“Their achievements and what they have done to help promote and advance the physical activity agenda is incredible, and we look forward to congratulating each and every one at this year’s awards ceremony.”

Chloe Kinch, Director of Client Success at Proinsight, said: “At Proinsight we are ecstatic to be partnering with ukactive for the fourth year and supporting them in the lead-up to the ukactive Awards.

“Each year, the quality of submissions gets better and better, and we’ve seen some incredibly close competition. This is a huge credit to the sector and the hard work everyone puts in to promote physical activity.”

Ticket sales are now open and to find out more information about the awards, head to the ukactive Awards website here.

The finalists for the ukactive Awards 2023

Regional & National Club/Centre of the Year:

Wales & Northern Ireland:

Ballyearl – Arts and Leisure Centre

GLL – Brook Leisure Centre

GLL – Eastern Leisure Centre

GLL – Lisnasharragh Leisure Centre

Llandovery Leisure Centre

Valley Leisure Centre


Live Borders – Trifitness


Brio Leisure – Winsford Lifestyle Centre

Brooklands Health Club

GLL Moss Side Leisure Centre

University of Leeds – The Edge


Everyone Active – Whitwick and Coalville Leisure Centre

LivingWell Hilton Birmingham Metropole

Loughborough Leisure Centre – Fusion Lifestyle

Serco Leisure – Northfield Leisure Centre

Serco Leisure – Oak Tree Leisure Centre

Serco Leisure / More Leisure Community Trust – Rebecca Adlington Leisure Centre


Everyone Active – Harrow Lodge Leisure Centre


GLL – Britannia Leisure Centre

GLL – Waltham Forest Feel Good Centre

The Fore


Everyone Active – Westminster Lodge and Leisure Centre

GLL, Rainbow Leisure Centre and Spa

Ivybridge Leisure Centre – Fusion Lifestyle

Places Leisure, Camberley

Whitstable Swimming Pool – Fusion Lifestyle

Windsor Leisure Centre – Leisure Focus Trust

Supplier of the Year:

Airius Europe Ltd

Future Fit Training

Gladstone Software

Les Mills UK

Perfect Gym Solutions


Study Active


New Build or Design of the Year:


GT3 Architects

Lex Leisure, Parkwood Leisure

Winchester City Council

Equality, Diversity & Inclusion:

Antrim and Newtonabbey Borough Council

Everyone Active

Fusion Lifestyle

Nottingham Trent University

Places Leisure

Sandwell Leisure Trust

Serco Leisure


Health Communities Award:

Freedom Leisure

GLL & University Hospital Morecambe Bay Trust

Lampton Leisure

Leeds City Council

Moray Leisure Ltd

Places Leisure

Sport Aberdeen


Innovation Award:

Active Essex

British Gymnastics

Carmarthenshire County Council

Fulham Reach Boat Club

GM Active CIC

Halo Leisure

Les Mills UK


Marketing Campaign Award:

Active Leeds

Active Nation

Anytime Fitness UK

Barnsley Premier Leisure

Brio Leisure

Inverclyde Leisure

Plymouth Active

University of Leeds

Digital Transformation Award:

1FitLife Ltd

Carmarthenshire County Council

Everyone Active – Hinckley

Good Boost

Lampton Leisure

Education Provider of the Year:

Central YMCA


Edstart Sports Coaching

Future Fit


GM Active CIC

Hatton Boxing


Physical Activity Hero Award:

Diane Friday – Mytime Active

Donna Whetlor – Fusion Lifestyle

Elaine Hutton – Bangor Aurora

Helen Tite – iCareiMove

Jane Charlton – Brimhams Active

Jonathan Michael – GLL

Karen Edmond – GLL

Laura Gligan

Sue Robinson – GLL

Vicki Watson – Brimhams Active

Outstanding Leadership Award:

Andy King – Chair GM Active, CEO MCR Active

Everybody Leadership Team

Glen Hall, Managing Director – Parkwood Leisure Limited

Jamie Groves – Denbighshire Leisure Ltd

Jason Fergus – Active Essex

Jubilee Hall Trust Leadership team

Mark Sesnan, OBE – Specialist Energy Advisor

Mark Tweedie – Brimhams Active

Simon Lane – Serco Leisure

Tom Goodhand – Places Leisure

Physical Activity Excellence Awards (BUCS):

King’s Sport & Wellness

Loughborough University

Southampton Sport

Surrey Sports Park

The Jan Spaticchia Special Recognition Award follows a separate process and the winner will be announced on the night.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button