Premier League Hall of Fame 2022 25-man shortlist revealed

The Premier League has today announced a shortlist of 25 former players who are eligible to join its official Hall of Fame in 2022.

Fans around the world can now cast their vote for the six players who will join Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira in being inducted this year.

The Premier League Hall of Fame recognises and celebrates the exceptional skill and talent of players who have graced the League since its inception in 1992. It is the highest individual honour awarded to players by the League.

The following players feature on the 25-man shortlist:

Tony Adams, Sergio Aguero, Sol Campbell, Petr Cech, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Patrice Evra, Rio Ferdinand, Les Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Vincent Kompany, Matthew Le Tissier, Gary Neville, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Michael Owen, Robin van Persie, Edwin van der Sar, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Teddy Sheringham, John Terry, Yaya Touré, Nemanja Vidic and Ian Wright.

Fans can vote at and via the official Premier League app. Voting is open until 9pm on Sunday 3 April, with the six inductees to be announced later next month.

The shortlist was compiled by the Premier League based on the career statistics of players who meet the Hall of Fame selection criteria. The career statistics analysed include the number of appearances, goals, assists, clean sheets and individual and team honours.

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame, players must have been retired by January 1, 2022, and only a player’s Premier League career is considered in their candidacy, not their performances in other competitions during the Premier League era.

Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction, and a £10,000 donation will be made by the Premier League to a charity of the player’s choice.

For more information, follow @premierleague and use #PLHallOfFame on social media.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button