Partner NewsSports Industry Group

Revamped Sport Industry Awards 2010 open for entries

The prestigious Sport Industry Awards 2010 are now open for entries, recognising and rewarding the best that the sport business sector has to offer.

This year’s awards programme has undergone a significant overhaul to better reflect the ever-evolving nature of the industry, including the addition of three new categories as well as a significant change to the judging process for the two flagship Awards – Sport Agency of the Year and Sport Brand of the Year.

For the first time ever, the shortlisted nominees for the latter two awards will be required to make brief presentations in person to the awards’ judging panel, which this year has been bolstered by the additions of Britain’s greatest-ever Paralympian, Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson, England 2018 World Cup bid chief executive, Andy Anson, and Katie Robinson, group chair of global advertising agency Euro RSCG.

The addition of three new award categories – Media Sponsorship of the Year, Sport Venue of the Year, and Sport Participation Event of the Year – will mean that 15 Sport Industry Awards are now open for entry in Europe’s largest commercial sport awards.

The deadline for entries for the Sport Industry Awards 2010 is Friday, December 11.

A shortlist of nominees for each award category will be unveiled early next year, with winners to be announced at the star-studded awards ceremony on May 13, 2010 in front of 1,400 industry representatives.

Among the sporting stars who attended the sell-out awards ceremony in May 2009 included Jenson Button, Joe Calzaghe, Michael Johnson, Alain Prost, Mika Hakkinen, Nicolas Anelka, Victoria Pendleton, Ben Ainslie and James DeGale.

These sporting stars followed in the footsteps of the likes of David Beckham, Kevin Pietersen, Thierry Henry, Arsene Wenger, Lord Sebastian Coe, Bernie Ecclestone, Frank Lampard, Martin Johnson, and Michael Vaughan, all of whom have attended the Sport Industry Awards in previous years.

Last year’s Sport Industry Awards registered record levels of entries, and the 2010 nominations are expected to surpass this number again.

Winners at the 2009 awards included AVIVA, The Football Association, Nike, Powerade, The Times and Vodafone.

For more information on the Sport Industry Awards 2010, or to enter or book your table for the event, visit or call the Sport Industry Group on 0207 240 7702.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button