West Ham duo lead the way as London Football Awards 2022 winners announced

West Ham United duo Declan Rice and David Moyes were the big winners of the night at the 2022 London Football Awards sponsored by Toscafund.
The Hammers’ vice-captain Rice was named Premier League Player of the Year after a season full of stellar displays helped propel West Ham up to fifth in the Premier League table and into contention for a UEFA Champions League spot.

Rice, who also won the Young Player of the Year award in 2019, saw off competition from teammate Jarrod Bowen and the Chelsea trio of Jorginho, Antonio Rüdiger and Thiago Silva, to land the award.
Elsewhere, Hammers boss David Moyes made it back-to-back victories in the Manager of the Year award having continued to build on last season’s success by guiding West Ham into the knockout stages of the UEFA Europa League as well as masterminding their excellent league form.

Record-breaking Fulham striker Aleksander Mitrovic was recognised for his lethal form this season as he was awarded English Football League Player of the Year. Currently sitting clear at the top of the table, Mitrovic has already scored 34 league goals this season, breaking previous award winner Ivan Toney’s 31 league goal record by the end of February.

Elsewhere, Crystal Palace star Conor Gallagher added to his breakout season by winning Men’s Young Player of the Year, whilst Chelsea shot-stopper Édouard Mendy won yet another accolade this season as he won Goalkeeper of the Year.

Australian superstar Sam Kerr took home the FA Women’s Super League Player of the Year award in a fiercely competitive category that also featured a trio of players from table-topping rivals Arsenal, with Kim Little, Katie McCabe, Leah Williamson and West Ham United’s Mackenzie Arnold finishing runners-up.

Kerr currently leads the goalscoring charts in the league this season with nine goals and helped her team to an iconic league and cup double last season alongside manager Emma Hayes, who was awarded the Outstanding Contribution to London Football award prior to the evening.

In the Women’s Young Player of the Year, Jessica Naz fought off competition from her Tottenham Hotspur teammate Esther Morgan and West Ham United’s Mel Filis to take home the award.
Fans played their part in this year’s ceremony as they voted for the Goal of the Season award, which went to QPR’s Andre Gray for his stunning last-gasp winning strike against Derby this season, in a category that was loaded with amazing goals from winners on the night Kerr and Gallagher, as well as Chelsea pair Hakim Ziyech and Mateo Kovacic.

Rounding off the awards is the Community Project of the Year award, which shines a light on the fantastic work of clubs to support their local communities and tackle issues in the city both on and off the pitch.

In a year of amazing initiatives from clubs across the capital, QPR in the Community Trust were announced as the winners for Long Live the Prince, their stunning tribute to mark the 15th anniversary of the tragic death of former youth player Kiyan Prince, who was stabbed whilst attempting to break up a fight back in 2006 whilst aged just 15 years old.

Commenting on the award winners, Bob Wilson OBE, ex-Arsenal Legend and founder of the Willow Foundation said: “It’s been yet another incredible year for clubs and players across London and all the winners and nominees should be proud of their achievements. Each category could have been gone to any of the nominees and there are worthy winners across the board.

“The talent on show in the city continues to get better every year, and this year has gone above and beyond. It’s always a pleasure to bring everyone together to celebrate the fine football achievements on show this season.”

The London Football Awards is now in its 8th year, and all proceeds from the awards go to Willow, the UK’s only national charity providing Special Days and Specials Treats for seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 years old when they are needed most. The charity was founded by Wilson and his wife Megs following the death of their daughter Anna from cancer aged 31.

The London Football Awards is sponsored by Toscafund and includes awards sponsored by: BH2 (Manager of the Year), Gung Ho Communications (Men’s Young Player of the Year, Women’s Young Player of the Year), Jump (EFL Player of the Year), London Evening Standard (Community Project of the Year), Multiplex (Goalkeeper of the Year), Target Sports Stars Fishing (Goal of the Season), Tongue Tied Management (FA WSL Player of the Year) and Weston Homes (Outstanding Contribution of the Year).

For more information about the London Football Awards, please visit:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button