Partner NewsSports Industry Group

Sport Industry Awards 2010 – the winners

During a night of non-stop excitement at Battersea Evolution in London on May 13 the winners of the Sport Industry Awards 2010 were unveiled in front of 1,500 high-profile industry figures and sporting celebrities.

All the winners were in attendance to pick up their awards, including Sir Alex Ferguson, who received the Virgin Active Outstanding Contribution to British Sport Award from England team manager Fabio Capello, and Brendan Foster, who was presented with the Jaguar Lifetime Achievement Award by athletics legends Haile Gebrselassie and Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson.

Also a winner on the night was Nick Fry, chief executive of the former Brawn GP F1 team, who was presented with the Marsh Leadership in Sport Award following his team’s success in winning the F1 Constructors’ Championships in its debut year, while Umbro’s innovative rebrand saw it crowned as the Sport Brand of the Year.

The full list of award winners is detailed below:

Best Sponsorship of a Sport Event or Competition

sponsored by ICON
Winner: adidas – Flora London Marathon

The Technological Innovation in Sport Award
Winner: Mongoose – Mongoose Cricket Bat

Best Use of PR in a Sport Campaign
sponsored by Action Images
Winner: The Football Association – FA Respect Programme

The Community Programme Award
sponsored by Sport England
Winner: The Everton Foundation – ‘Imagine Your Goals’ Mental Health Football Project

Sport Governing Body of the Year
Winner: British Triathlon

Best Use of Digital Communications in Sport
Winner: England & Wales Cricket Board – The Great Exhibition

Best TV Sport Commercial
sponsored by Eurosport
Winner: Robinsons – Imagine

Best Sponsorship of a Sport Team or Individual
sponsored by Nolan Partners
Winner: Coca-Cola – Coke Zero Presents: Wayne Rooney’s Street Striker

Sport Newspaper of the Year
sponsored by UK Sport
Winner: The Daily Telegraph

Sport Venue of the Year
sponsored by Battersea Evolution
Winner: The O2

Sport Participation Event of the Year
Winner: Greater London Authority & BSkyB – The Mayor of London’s Skyride

Best Integrated Sport Marketing Campaign
Winner: Nike – Show Your 5

Sport Brand of the Year
sponsored by Clarke Willmott
Winner: Umbro

Sport Agency of the Year
sponsored by Colouration
Winner: M&C Saatchi Sport & Entertainment

The KantarSport Business Achievement of the Year Award
Winner: Barclays ATP World Tour Finals

The Marsh Leadership in Sport Award
Winner: Nick Fry and Ross Brawn, Brawn GP

Virgin Active Outstanding Contribution to British Sport
Winner: Sir Alex Ferguson

The Jaguar Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Brendan Foster

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button